Carrie Underwood Named NARM Country Breakout Artist of the Year

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE August 8, 2006

Carrie Underwood Named NARM Country Breakout Artist of the Year

Underwood Heads to NY for Good Morning America

Nashville, TN – Triple-Platinum country sensation Carrie Underwood garners yet another accolade with this week’s announcement that she has been named Country Breakout Artist of the Year by the National Association of Recording Merchandisers (NARM).

The award was one of several honors bestowed by the not-for-profit music trade association on behalf of its retail and wholesale members in recognition of artists who have contributed significantly to the health of the industry through sales and creativity.

Carrie’s debut 19 Recordings/Arista Nashville album, Some Hearts, released in November, and was RIAA certified in April for sales of 3,000,000 units, becoming the fastest Triple-Platinum female country debut in history.

Underwood joins a handful of other artists in various genres to be awarded this year, including Coldplay, James Blunt, Ne-Yo, Flyleaf, Juanita Bynum, RBD, and Panic! at the Disco.

Fans can be watching for Carrie later this week as she performs on ABC’s Good Morning America on Friday.

# # # #

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, CONTACT:

Print and TV contact: Allen Brown or Chris Melancon, RLG, 615/301-4300, allen.brown@sonybmg.com, chris.melancon@sonybmg.com
Country radio syndicates and satellite radio: Maurice Miner, RLG, 615/301-4448, maurice.miner@sonybmg.com
Non-news CMT and GAC programming, video shows and international media contact: Cindy Mabe or Dustin Eichten, RLG, 615/301-4300, cindy.mabe@sonybmg.com, dustin.eichten@sonybmg.com
Internet contact: Heather McBee, RLG, 615/301-4300, heather.mcbee@sonybmg.com
Independent publicist: Jessie Schmidt, Schmidt Relations, 615/846-3878, Jessie@schmidtpr.com